Heading Home.

LAURIE JANEY

My ticket is booked and I’ll be on a long-haul flight out of London at the end of the week. It’s so sudden. I haven’t quite managed to process it.

I’ve spent nine months feelings homesick and dreaming of my trip back to Cape Town, but now that I’m being forced to go home prematurely and in undesirable circumstances, part of me wants to stay right where I am. Typical. I’m looking forward to seeing my family and friends, but I’m going to miss London and our cosy little home here so very much while I’m away. It’s not clear how long it’s going to take me to get back and the uncertainty is making me anxious. I already feel like I’m torn between two countries. All these feelings that I’ve never had before…. they’re intriguing, but also rather exhausting.

February is going to be a pretty intense month. I…

View original post 5 more words

Leave a Reply

